Forbidden City is known in Chinese as Gu Gong, which means the “Former Palace”. The museum, which is built based on those buildings, is known as the “Palace Museum”.
It was the Chinese imperial palace, which was home to 24 emperors of Ming dynasty (1368–1644) and Qing dynasty (1644–1911). It is now situated in the center of Beijing, served as political center of China
In 1987, UNESCO approved that Forbidden City was a World Heritage Site, and is listed as the largest collection of preserved ancient wooden structures in the world.
It took almost 14 years and more than one millions labors to complete the whole process of building from 1406 to 1420, the complex consists of 980 buildings and covers over 180 acres. The palace complex exemplifies traditional Chinese palatial architecture, and has strong influence in both cultural and architectural in East Asia. As the top royal building, the materials that were used for this enormous constructions including whole logs of Phoebe zhennan wood, and large blocks of marble from quarries near Beijing. The floors of major halls were paved with “golden bricks” .
From 1420 to 1644, the Forbidden City was the seat of Ming dynasty. Then the Manchus had achieved supremacy in northern China, eventually became the winner of the war and proclaiming the rule of all China until the end of Qing Dynasty.
Since 1925 the Forbidden City has been under the charge of the Palace Museum, which extensive collection of artwork and artifacts were built upon the imperial collections of the Ming and Qing dynasties. Part of the museum’s former collection is now located in the National Palace Museum in Taipei. Both museums descend from the same institution, but were split after the Chinese Civil War. With over 14.6 million annual visitors, the Palace Museum is the most visited art museum in the world.
- Forbidden City is closed on every Monday
- It is suggested to book the entrance tickets one day earlier
- Passport or valid ID is required for booking entrance ticket
High Season: April 1st – October 31st
Low Season: November 1st – the next March 31st
High Season: 08:30am – 17:00pm | 16:00pm, No entry
Low Season: 08:30am – 16:30pm | 15:40pm, No entry
Low Season: RMB 40.00
Hall of Jewel: RMB 10.00
How to get there
–By bus: 1,2,10,20,82,120,37,52,126,99,203,205, 210, 728, S1,S2, At Bus stop “Tian An Men Dong”, walk from here for about 900 meters to reach the entrance
–By Bus: 1,5,10,22,37,52,205,728, At Bus stop “Tian An Men Xi”, walk from here for about 1,000 meters to reach the entrance
–By metro: Line 1, at stop “Tian An Men Dong”, Exit A; walk 900 meters from here to reach the entrance