Temple of Heaven | 天坛
Temple of Heaven is an imperial complex of religious buildings situated in the southeastern of Beijing. The complex was visited by the Emperors of the Ming and Qing dynasties for annual ceremonies of prayer to Heaven for good harvest. It has been regarded as a Taoist temple, although Chinese is heaven worship, especially by the reigning monarch,
From 1406 to 1420 BC, Beijing
Traditional Chinese architecture
Temple of Heaven was constructed during the reign of the Yong-Le Emperor Ming Dynasty, who was also responsible for the construction of the Forbidden City in Beijing. The complex was extended and renamed Temple of Heaven during the reign of the Jia-Jing Emperor in the 16th century. Jiajing also built three other prominent temples in Beijing, the Temple of Sun in the east, the Temple of Earth in the north, and the Temple of Moon in the west.
Temple of Heaven was renovated in the 18th century under the Qian-Long Emperor of Qing Dynasty. This was also the last large-scale renovation in imperial times.
In 1900, the Eight-Nation Alliance occupied the temple and turned it into the force’s commanding base during the Second Opium War, which lasted for one year. The occupation desecrated the temple and casued serious damage to the building and the garden.
In 1914, Yuan Shi-kai, then President of the Republic of China, performed a Ming prayer ceremony at the temple, as part of an effort to have himself declared Emperor of China. In 1918 the temple was turned into a park and for the first time open to the public.
The Temple of Heaven was inscribed as a UNESCO World Heritage Site in 1998 and was described as “a masterpiece of architecture and landscape design which simply and graphically illustrates a cosmogony of great importance for the evolution of one of the world’s great civilizations…” as the “symbolic layout and design of the Temple of Heaven had a profound influence on architecture and planning in the Far East over many centuries.
Temple of Heaven official site : http://www.tiantanpark.com/
High Travel Season: 06:00 am – 22: 00 pm | Low Travel Season: 06:30 am – 22: 00 pm
Internal attraction opening hour : 08:00 am – 17:30 pm in High Travel Season | 08:00 am – 17:00 pm in Low Travel Season
Address & Contact
Add: No. 1 Tiantan E Rd, Dongcheng District, Beijing
Phone: +86 10 6702 8866
High Season: from April 1st to October 31st
Low Season: from November 1st to the next March 31st
High Season – Ticket: RMB 15.00 per person / Discount ticket: RMB 7.50 per person
Low Season – Ticket: RMB 10.00 per person / Discount ticket: RMB 5.00 per person
How to Get There
To West Gate –By Bus No. 2、No. 20、No. 120
To North Gate –By Bus No. 6、No.34、No.35、No.36、No.106、No.111
To East Gate –By Bus No. 6、No. 25、No. 34、No. 35、No. 36、No. No. 39、No. 41、No. 43、No. 60、No. 610、No. 684、No. 685、No. 723、No. 814
By Metro –Metro Line 5 at stop “Tian Tan Dong Meng Stop |天坛东门站
To South Gate –By Bus No. 36、No. 120、No. 122 | 天坛东门站