Zunyi Conference Site is located in the old town of Zunyi City. It was built in the early 1930s as the private residence.
In this building, the “Zunyi Conference”, regarded as a turning point in the history of the People’s Republic of China, was held.
Today, the furnishings in the conference room basically retain its original appearance of the meeting. The six Chinese characters of “Zunyi Conference Site” written by Mao Zedong are hung high in the middle of the gate of the conference site.
The whole building is a two-story building with brick and wood structure, divided into two parts: the main building and the courtyard.
After entering the gate, passing through the foyer and the archway, the main building is in front of you.
Main building structure
The main building is facing south from the north and has two floors. It is in the shape of a curved ruler. It has a hip roof with a “Roof window”, and pillars, arches, and guardrails.
The entire main building is 27.75 meters wide, 16.95 meters deep, and 12 meters high. It was the premier magnificent building in Zunyi city at that time.
On the south side of the main building are attached security and service agency rooms
The courtyard next to the main building is a wooden courtyard.
The room where the Zunyi Conference was held was the rectangular living room on the east side of the second floor. It was originally the owner’s small living room with an area of 27 square meters.
There is a chandelier covered with a lotus leaf on the roof in the middle of the house. On the east wall of the house, there are a wall clock (original) and two wall cabinets (original), one of which is embedded with a full-length mirror.
In the center of the living room, there is a rectangular table (original) in slate color.
There are 20 wooden frame rattan folding chairs around the table,which were all for the people attending the Zunyi meeting.
There is a charcoal brazier under the rectangular table, which was used for heating at that time
There is a row of bright glass windows on the west wall, from which the green hills and the houses facing the street are vividly
At the beginning of January 1935, after the Long March of the Red Army of Chinese Workers and Peasants arrived in Zunyi, the Headquarters of the Central Revolutionary Military Committee of the Chinese Soviet Republic were stationed in this building.
From January 15th to 17th, 1935, the Politburo of the CPC Central Committee held an enlarged meeting of the Politburo here. In this meeting, a new central leadership group represented by Mao Zedong was established, which was called the “Zunyi Conference” in history.
In January 1954, the site of the Zunyi Conference began to be restored. A comprehensive survey of the original state of the meeting site was started, and at the same time, a large-scale collection of cultural relics of the Red Army’s Long March activities in Guizhou.
On October 1, 1959, the site of the Zunyi Conference was officially opened to the public with the approval of the relevant higher-level departments.
In 1961, the site of the Zunyi Conference was listed by the State Council as the first batch of national key cultural relics protection units.
In 1964, Chairman Mao Zedong personally inscribed “Zunyi Conference Site” for the memorial hall.
From 1968 to February 1972, the auxiliary display in the venue was also revised three times.
In January 1985, the auxiliary showroom of the Zunyi Conference was opened to the public.
In 2005, it was rated as a national AAAA-level tourist attraction.
On November 24, 2018, it was selected as the “Third Batch of Chinese 20th Century Architectural Heritage Projects”.
Zunyi Conference Site Data
Address & Phone
Add: No. 96, Ziyin Road, Zunyi City
Phone: +86 851 2822-2052
Official web: http://www.zunyihy.cn/
Free of charge
How to get to there
Zunyi City is a kind of small city. The Buses pass (stop) at the Zunyi Conference site are: No. 1, No. 17, No. 23, and No. 6.
Get off at the “Meeting Site Station” and walk past Ding-zi-kou in the city center, it may take 20 minutes walk