Taiji fishing village is indeed a part of “Nuo Deng village”, which is a village inhabited by Bai people. “Nuo Deng” meaning “Hills with tigers” in Bai people’s language， it is 6 km from Yunlong County and 165km from Dali which takes about 3 hours’ drive.
“Nuo Deng village” is the earliest economic town of Bai people. For more than 1000 years, the name of the village “Nuo Deng” has not changed.The streets in the village have maintained the original pattern and style. Modern residential buildings are rare, but a large number of buildings of Ming and Qing dynasties are retained, including Yu-Huang-Ge Taoist building complex.
The architectural style of the buildings in Nuo Deng Village is similar to that of the Bai people’s Buildings in Dali. According to research, this village is found in historical books, it has been in the Tang, Song, Yuan, Ming and Qing dynasties for a total of 1138 years. It is the oldest village in northwestern Yunnan Province
Nuo Deng village is also called “Nuo Deng Well” which means “Nuo Deng Salt well”. According to historical records — “The Book of Man” of Yunnan, Nuo Deng village has been clearly recorded that salt production have been drilled in this village since the earliest Tang Dynasty; It is a typical village relying on salt-wells for survival; Due to the high quality of Nuo Deng salt, Yunnnan local people, especially the people in the areas of Baoshan and Tengchong are very enjoy the salt products from Nuo Deng Village; The ancient Tea-horse trading routes, which are east to Dali & Kunming, south to Baoshan & Tengchong, west to Liuku & Myanmar, north to Lijiang and Tibet, are met here. That had made this village a very much wealth area. Once historically it had become one of the commercial centers of western Yunnan. The village now still preserves a relatively complete ancient salt well and the original site of government office back in the Ming Dynasty which is a valuable for studying the economics and culture of ancient salt industry in Yunnan.
Nuo Deng village is surrounded by mountains on all sides. The lowest point of the village is 1900 meters above sea level, and the highest level of Yuhuang Pavilion is more than 2100 meters above sea level. Except a small flat platform behind the “Dragon King Temple” at the foot of the mountain in the east, almost all the houses are built on the hillside. Most of the houses are being built due to the mountainous terrain, and their structural layout is different from that of ordinary Bai people’s dwelling; The main room, side room, and front room are staggered but not on the same level, so the front and rear roof eaves are formed on top of each other. The Residential buildings in Nuodeng Village pay attention to the beautiful and delicate traditional crafts and carved patterns.
The streets and alleies are interspersed vertically and horizontally, all made of slate, In ancient times, this long stone staircase was lined with butcher shops on both sides, and it was lively along the steps when going to the market. The most famous local product is Norden Ham.
Taiji fishing village Data
1,900 – 2,100 meters above sea level
Taiji Fishing village, Yunlong County
Free of Charge
Tips on visit
Departure from Yunlong County, there is an indicator board not far from the bridge to the northwest pointing the way to the observation platform, at which turning left along the mountain road driving for about 6 kilometers. Standing on the observation platform and looking down at the mountain, a natural Tai Chi image formed by the river and the mountain is clearly in sight
Airport & Bus Station
Address: Junction of Fengyi Town and Haidong Town on the east bank of Erhai Lake
IATA Code: DLU
Altitude: 2155 meters above sea level
Phone: +86 872 242 8921
Dali Bus Station
Address: No.372, Weishan Road
Phone: +86 2310148 / 2129134
Altitude: 1975 meters above sea level
Working hours: 06:00 am – 19:00 pm